Goodfellow Air Force Base 17th Training Wing leaders and the All-Veterans Council pose for a group photo after the Veterans Awards Ball was held in the Fort Concho Commissary Building on Satuday, March 25, 2023.

Flaco Guapo Media founder, Jim Sánchez

The All_Veterans Council members: Kathy Fiscus, Luis Martinez, III, and master of ceremonies, Senora Scott.

SAN ANGELO – The inaugural Concho Boots, & Pearls Veterans Awards Ball hosted by the All-Veterans Council, presented 10 plaques to organizations, and individuals who volunteered their time and support in behalf of the AVC to local Veterans who served their country with valor, and sacrifice.

The master of ceremonies, KLST-TV News Director, Senora Scott introduced the presenters who handed out the following awards.

AVC Secretary, Kathy Fiscus presented the Civilian Volunteer of the Year to the recipient, Mr. JJ Graham. Mr. Troy Crosby, accepted the award in Graham’s behalf.

Mr. Ronald “JJ” Graham, a former USAF, 30-year veteran.

The Civilian Organization of the Year award went to Concho Valley workforce Solutions. Since its inception in 2003, CVWS has provided volunteers for the Veterans Parade that has garnered attention from US Senator, Ted Cruz’ office, Texas District 11 Representative August Pfluger’s office and State, Representative Drew Darby's office.

The third award, Veterans Service Organization of the Year went to Disable American Veterans (DAV) chapter 237. “We are always looking for people to help,” said Tom Green County Veteran Service Officer, Troy Crosby who accepted the award.

The Good Air Force Base Military Organization of the Year award went to the GFAB’ 17th Public Affairs Office. Accepting the award in the behalf of PAO was GFAB Co. Matthew Reilman.

U.S. Air Force Tech. Sgt. Andrew Fruehan, 17th Training Wing Protocol superintendent presents The Non-profit Organization of the Year award to Elks Lodge # 1880.
The Lodge holds its annual Home Away From Home Christmas for military personnel every year on Christmas Day. Accepting the award were Single Member District3 Council member, Mr. Harry Thomas and Karen Martin.

Mr. Howdy Johnston from Liberty Concrete and Construction received an Appreciation Award.

Senora Scott, KLST-TV New Director one of four recipients to receive the Chairman's Award.

Ben Parsons a veteran, and his lovely wife, Brandi.

The Chairman’s Award recipients for outstanding service to the Veteran community included: Ben Parsons, and Troy Crosby, both veterans, Senora Scott, and Mr. Jeff Meurer, commander of San Angelo's American Legion.  

Luis Martinez, III, former combat veteran, and Disabled American Veterans, Col. Michael Rader Chapter 237 Commander receives an award from the AVC.

Luis Martinez, III presents a certificate to AVC Secretary, Kathy Fiscus. A portion of it reads. "Your dedication of hard work, and countless hours of behind the scenes has never gone unnoticed" United States Senator, Ted Cruz.

AVC’s program also incorporated women’s service when it invited Beth Hamby, Volunteer Coordinator for the National WASP (Women Air Force Service Pilots) WWII Museum to speak. The museum exists to honor the Women Airforce Service Pilots of World War II and educate all generations of the story of the WASP, who were the first women to fly America's military aircraft.
For more information on the women who made their mark in military history as WASP go to:

GFAB Chief Master Sgt. Rebecca Arbona

“It's refreshing that this organization will continue to celebrate, educate, and pay tribute to those that have selflessly served our great nation. All of our current service members, including myself and those that came before us. Recognizing our past is just as important as looking forward to the future” said Chief Master Sgt. Rebecca Arbona, 17th Training Wing command chief in her remarks to conclude the evening.