Flaco Guapo Media
SAN ANGELO – With 20 awards handed out at Angelo State University’s Rammys on Thursday, April 25th, Miss Edelyn Park, ASU grad student, was personally involved in four of those—one as a recipient of Promising Female Leader of the Year. Miss Park also accepted awards in behalf of two other organizations; one was in behalf of the RAMbassadors, the other Health Science Society; and she was a presenter in a fourth one.

Photo courtesy of Edelyn Park's Facebook.

The 27th Rammys ceremony was hosted by the Student Government Association (SGA) in association with the Multicultural & Student Activities Programs (MSAP) Office that honors registered student organizations, student leaders along with faculty and staff who have made outstanding contributions to Angelo State and the San Angelo community throughout the academic school year, per angelo’s website. The annual Ram family awards was held in the CJ Davidson Center on the campus of ASU.

This year’s co-host emcees were Brayden Woods and Miss Shayla Hollin. 2018 homecoming king, Justice Medina and and queen, Nadia Davila handed out the awards.

Before Park received her first award though, she was a presenter with Mr. Jarett Luhan, Student Programs & Activities Coordinator.

Both Luhan and Park were on stage to announce the Greek Life Organization of the Year Award recipient--Sigma Kappa. 

NOTE: all of ASU's Rammy presenters: faculty and students are incorporated within slides/ music video.


The other 18 awards were as follows.

Academic/Professional Organization of the Year Award
recipient was Delta Sigma Pi. Presenters were Samuel Mendoza and Rowan Upton.

Club Sports Organization of the Year Award
recipient was Rambelle Rugby. Dr. Javier Flores and Claire Benshoter were presenters.

Honor Society of the Year Award went to Honor Student Association. Presenters were Mrs. Heather Valle Brown and Deyalex Gonzalez.

Multicultural/International Organization of the Year Award went to Association of Mexican American Students (AMAS). Ms. Lorina Soza and Nana Amponsah were presenters.

Spiritual Life Organization of the Year Award was given to Catholic Newman Center. Presenters were Mrs. Christabel Romine and Kristen Kilpatrick.

Promising Male Leader of the Year Award was Cody Vasquez. The presenters were Dr. Kenneth Heineman and Amatha Gonzales. 

NOTE: all of ASU's Rammy presenters: faculty and students are incorporated within slides/ music video, part II.

Left-to-right: Nadia Davila, Edelyn Park and Justice Medina.

Promising Female Leader of the Year Award went to Miss Park. Mrs. Angie Wright and Caleb Conaway were presenters. This award was given to a female student who has shown great leadership potential within the University and within her organization. This student must demonstrate an overall ability to lead in a productive manner with emphasis on dedication and commitment.
Park is from South Korea. Her bio states she is involved in Tri- Beta Biology National Honor Society, she would like to represent international students for a better college life. Park’s eventual goal is to work in a medical center for a health organization to help developing countries and reduce gap between developed countries.

Quiet Influence Award
recognized was Dr. Clifton Jones. Both Mrs. Emily Banda and Haley Polk were presenters.

Advisor of the Year Award
went to Dr. John Klingemann. Presenters included Dr. Matthew Gritter and Rosalyn Hollingsworth.

Friends of the SGA Award gave it to three entities. The first one was Information Technology. Accepting on behalf of IT was Mrs. Elaine Beach.

The second SGA award went to the Office of Communications and Marketing. Accepting were Brttney Miller, Marketing Specialist and Christina Van Ittersum, Digital Media Specialist.

The third recipient to received the SGA award was Mrs. Angie Wright.

Ram Fam Scholarship recipient was Morgan Cote who received a check for $500 from the Student Government Association. Carly Broadville made the presentation.

Board Council of the Year went to Panhellenic Council with presenters: Jessica Manning and Austin Habecker. 

Special Interest Organization of the Year
were the Rambassadors. Mrs. Jessica Gooch and Jessica Rios were the presenters.

Rising Ram Award 
went to Health Science Society. Representing the organization once again was Miss Park. Dr. Crystal Kreitler and Taylor Bickford were presenters.

Outstanding Community Service Award went to Honors Student Association. Presenters were Mrs. Erika Baeza and Brady Floyd.

Most Spirited Organization Award went to Delta Sigma PI with presenters being Mr. Kraig Schell and Bailey Champlin.

Service Organization of the Year recipient was Beta Beta Biological Honor Society. Mrs. Brandy Hawkins and Koryelle Means were presenters.

Dr. E. James Hindman Award went to Honors Student Association. Presenters were Dr. Donald Topliff and Cody Kretschmer.

Chartwell’s dining services and staff catered the affair.