Flaco Guapo Media

SAN ANGELO – First there were 101 high school seniors who applied for scholarships to this year’s 2019 San Angelo Stock Show & Rodeo’s Foundation. The list was then whittled down to 17 high school seniors from their respective high schools which was no easy task.

Finally, one senior from Seminole, Texas was the recipient of the prestigious Kermit Wendland Scholarship that was valued at $14,000. As for the other 16 soon-to-be-high school graduates, each one received a scholarship that was awarded in the amount of $8.000. 

On Tuesday evening, May 14, 2019 at the SASS&R’s Annual Membership & Banquet, the Foundation announced the names of those 17 scholarship recipients. Among them was Seminole Indians' senior, Miss Carlye Winfrey, who was #17 on the program list when she was finally announced as the latest individual to receive the Kermit Wendland Scholarship. Mr. Kermit Wendland, whom the scholarship was named after, presented the certificate to Carlye in behalf of the Foundation. Mr. Wendland is currently serving as the Operations Director for the Association.

Left-to-right: Mrs. Kim Winfrey, daughter: Carlye, and father, Mr. Bob Winfrey. Carlye's brothers are Brice and Alec.

“The Foundation has awarded $1,849,300 in scholarships to 785 high school seniors since 1987. “Recipients of the scholarships must participate as members of 4-H, FFA, and FCCLA programs, demonstrating the Association's anchored belief in these important youth programs” per https://www.sanangelorodeo.com/ 

The SASS&R banquet held from 7 p.m. - to 8 p.m., took place at First Financial Pavilion. The banquet was catered by H.E.B.

The following students will receive an $8,000 scholarship, payable $1,000 per semester for eight semesters:

1. Zane Allen
2. Taylore Ashton
3. Cortny Broz
4. Madelon Clark
5. Shelby Curry N/A
6. Jack Detten
7. Baylor Halfmann
8. Cara Hernandez
9. Tate Jones 
10. Jill Kellermeir
11. Kaitlyn Kempen
12. Marti Lumpkins
13. Erica Masi N/A
14. Madison Peterson
15. Logan Price
16. Carely Turner
17. Carlye Winfrey

 Mrs. Linda Rhodes was given a bouquet by the Foundation for her years of faithful service; and after 34 years she is retiring. Congratulations! 

 The Foundation Board is made up of:
President- James Sanderson
Vice President- Mike Boyd
Secretary- Sande Harrison
Treasurer- Brad Fly
Directors: Chris Dublin, Larry Garvin, Pierce Miller
2019 scholarship recipients

Macy Schwartz was recognized for her valuable contributions to the SASS&R as she was presented with a bouquet of flowers. Schwartz was the livestock coordinator for the past seven years